2014 Tour of California Route Announced

Tour of California 2012

The peloton chases the break during the 2013 Tour of California in San Luis Obispo.

The 2014 Tour of California will feature a north to south route with two summit finishes, four new host cities and eight stages of intense racing from May 11-18. The race kicks off in Sacramento followed by an individual time trial on day two in the cycling hotbed of Folsom, located about 25 miles east of the capital city. Climbers who may have struggled in the TT have a shot at redemption in stage three, which starts in San Jose and finishes atop the infamous Mt. Diablo.

After three tough stages to start the race off, cyclists will face the longest stage on day four which starts in Monterey and finishes in Cambria. Stage five continues down the coast, traveling from Pismo Beach to Santa Barbara. These will likely be days for the sprinters, but a breakaway will surely try to foil their plans.

Stage six has the potential to shake up the overall classification again with a summit finish at the Mountain High ski resort after starting in Santa Clarita. Stage seven starts in San Clarita again with a finish in Pasadena. The last day of racing takes place around the city of Thousand Oaks, which is the hometown of title sponsor Amgen.

  • Stage 1: Sunday, May 11 – Sacramento
  • Stage 2: Monday, May 12 – Folsom (Individual Time Trial)
  • Stage 3: Tuesday, May 13 – San Jose to Mount Diablo
  • Stage 4: Wednesday, May 14 – Monterey to Cambria
  • Stage 5: Thursday, May 15 – Pismo Beach to Santa Barbara
  • Stage 6: Friday, May 16 – Santa Clarita to Mountain High
  • Stage 7: Saturday, May 17 – Santa Clarita to Pasadena
  • Stage 8: Sunday, May 18 – Thousand Oaks

2014 Amgen Tour of California route